Daily Medley: 14-Sept-2016

My my, what a day.

I finished two work assignments today. TWO.  And this, after I had overslept this morning (no thanks to you, acetaminophen),  and with a lunch invitation by my mallu friend thrown in. I had woken up in abject terror of having to ask my client for another day to deliver.

I finished both assignments.  And well too. Yay me.

Thoughts of the day:

  1.  My obsession with keeping time seems to be going out of hand.  This morning, I mis-saw (if that is possible) the time as 10.30 AM instead of 9.30, and ran around like a maniac, to get my house chores done before I left for the lunch meeting at 11.30.  I was ready at the dot of what I thought was 11.30, which was actually only 10.30.  The good thing was that I got an extra hour to sit with my document, but the panic was totally unnecessary.   My kid rolls her eyes at me (she does that a lot these days) and says “you really need help with your  time madness, amma”.  Easy for her to say.  She wakes up every morning at 7.32 to be out of the house at 8 AM.
  2. I must start waking up early.  Every day, my alarm rings at 6 AM, but I am not out of bed until 6.45.  Not good, considering the earlier point. This morning’s 8 AM was the effect of Calpol that I had for my migraine last night, but other mornings are not very better.
  3. The female body is such a sensitive machine that within moments of the great liberation, the hormones disappear into the great wide open, birds chirp, bees buzz, God’s in his heaven and all is right with the world.  It is amazing how much havoc a 200 gram organ can cause inside the head.  I am impressed.
  4. I often write for a client, on topics that I either have no personal opinion about, or in fact, have opinions starkly opposing what the client wants.  Yet, every week, I write a thousand words of what he wants.  I tell myself that the true talent of a writer is her ability to write and convince others of stuff she herself may not believe in.  But a voice in the corner calls me a word-pimp.

Tomorrow promises to be just as busy as today was.  Two assignments to finish.  But those are relatively easy (if a little boring).

Until then…

 

7 thoughts on “Daily Medley: 14-Sept-2016

    1. LG

      Exactly, Carol. That’s why I couldn’t stay away from blogging for too long. The need to write what I want to write and not what I am expected to write comes from the work compulsion of writing for someone else.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Hangaku Gozen

    I’m time-obsessive too, so much so I bought a clock that automatically synchronizes with the US atomic clock time. The problem is that, in order to synchronize, it has to be able to receive the radio transmission from the atomic clock, wherever it happens to be. Since my clock is sitting on my desk next to my computer, it’s always off by 55 seconds because, apparently, my computer and wifi interfere with radio reception. *Shrug* I don’t know much about these things, but it does irritate me my clock is running 55 seconds late. I scold it and tell it I would be better off consulting my smartphone (though I don’t, because that creates more havoc when I’m getting ready in the morning: “Ack, I’m already three minutes late for work!”)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      1. I may have fallen in love with you. The first thought that struck me when reading this comment was “wow, she has a clock that syncs with the atomic clock? I want that”.
      2. Excuse the cultural stereotype. You have Japanese genes in you – you are allowed to be time-obsessive. Having Indian relatives yourself, you must be aware of the compulsive Indian need to be late. I don’t fit in at all.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Hangaku Gozen

        Ha! Sometimes stereotypes come from truth. My older daughter, who married into an Indian family, complained about her Japanese grandfather’s funeral starting 10 minutes early. She and her family arrived at the temple at the exact time posted in the obituary, but to her horror the service was already underway. Given that she had a three-month old baby and a very restless two-year-old, they also needed a little extra time to get settled. Luckily, many of the attendees were very old and mostly deaf, so no one paid much mind to the latecomers stumbling into the temple.

        My son-in-law by comparison jokes about Indian parties and other events starting an hour late. Their own wedding was scheduled for 2 p.m., and as you know, Hindu wedding ceremonies can be very long. However, by 3 p.m. guests were still milling about while the pundit was setting up the ceremonial area. It was just as well, since there was a line going into the two available bathrooms in the house. One guest was still taking a shower and getting dressed!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

