Daily Medley: 20-Sept-2016

I have never been to Great Britain, but from what I read, it is almost always cloudy, gloomy and wet.  Like Chennai is today.  I wonder how more Britons don’t fall off the Big Ben –  with just one gloomy day, I am ready to push people off cliffs.

When I was younger, I would love this weather because it would mean lounging around reading story books with a cup of tea and snacks.  Now it bothers me because I have to make that tea and snacks if I were to lounge around – and I don’t make good chai.  Besides, the stupid guilt would kill me – “do you remember you have two documents to finish today, AND a large deadline coming up?  do you?”.  The kindle with the Wuthering Heights is mocking me from my bed.

Talking of Wuthering Heights – I read it for the first time when I was in high school, and hated its guts.  Three decades later, I am loving it. My brain is weird.

And tired.  It always bothers me that although I really love handling documents – editing, writing, whatever – at the end of the working day, my brain feels really tired.  Stuff one enjoys does not tire one out, does it?  I have only worked four hours today, I agree, on a challenging document, but my head already feels like it has been chopped and sautéd in lard.

Oh well, domestic chores await.  Until tomorrow then…

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Medley: 20-Sept-2016

  1. Hangaku Gozen

    I didn’t understand Wuthering Heights when I was in high school. “So…Kathy is really dead? But Heathcliff is guardian to her son, whom he hates because he’s also the son of his rival? This is soap opera.” It wasn’t until many years later I came to enjoy the book, though I sometimes find Bronte’s plot too convoluted to follow.

    I spent a summer in London as an exchange student. It was miserable because I never saw the sun—me, a girl from California, without sunshine!—and every other day it rained. When we took a short holiday to Rome, I was so happy. It was sunny, warm, and everybody was simpatico. I didn’t think the British were, simpatico, that is. They seened either dour and humorless or tweedy and tut-tut. Or drunk. I saw lots of drunks during my stay there, and they weren’t college students.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

