Daily Medley: 3-Oct-2016

  1. I am about 60% done for the Wednesday’s deadline – three of five documents (15 pages each) done. One part of me is confident that I will be able to meet the deadline.  The neurotic me reminds me of navarathri guests, navarathri visits, possible migraines, lunch guests tomorrow and my sudden inability to be able to string words (which has never happened yet, says the confident LG, but she has a weak voice).   The neurotic LG also reminds me of back burner work – an article to be written, a thesis to be edited and what not.  The confident one is fighting, even if a losing battle.
  2. Talking of documents to be edited – it is probably unethical to comment about clients, but I find that Indians have no concept of weekends.  One client sent me a document to edit on Friday evening and emailed me on Sunday asking me if I had finished the edition. A few years ago, such a mail would get me all riled up and I would decline to edit the client’s document, but now my fuse is not as short.  I merely tell them that I don’t work on weekends.  I never find this an issue with my non-Indian clients.
  3. This 5.30 AM wake-up is still going strong, but I remain groggy for half an hour.  The good thing is that I sit for the half hour, doing nothing, hovering the area between sleep and wakefulness. Wake up time notwithstanding,  I am not a brisk wake-upper; it takes thirty minutes and a couple of cups of coffee to jolt me into life no matter when I wake up.  My significant other hits the ground running.  The kid, sadly, takes after the mom.
  4. I am liking this morning wakeup, even if I do feel a little sick in my stomach until I am fully awake.  I realise that I have not sat doing nothing in YEARS.  The last time I did that was probably when I worked in the US and lived by myself. On weekends, I had nothing to do, so I would sit in the patio of the apartment, with a cup of coffee and just watch people go by for an hour or so.  That was 15 years ago.  Whoa.  Its been 15 years since I returned to India.
  5. When I was a student in the US, I was an avid follower of the sitcom Friends. Somewhere along the sixth season, I freaked out at my addiction, plucked the mini television set I owned, put it out with the garbage and vowed that I would not own a television for the rest of my life.  With my daughter’s new-found interest in American Sitcoms, catalysed by The Big Bang Theory (TBBT), we are watching Friends again now.  We still don’t own a television, but project the video files on our living room wall.  We are in the eight season now, and I am aghast at what irritating people the female leads of the sitcom have evolved into. All three of them are selfish brats, and are really rude – how can they still be “friends” when they are so rude to each other? The men are better, although it bugs me that Ross, the only academic and higher-educated character, is treated so badly – what is the message sent?  To be well-educated is to be a loser?  Hmm.  Also, TBBT is such a rip off of Friends, isn’t it?

Back to work now.

11 thoughts on “Daily Medley: 3-Oct-2016

  1. The V Pub

    I swear that I was thinking the same thing of TBBT. I recently started to watch it, and I realized it was the nerd version of Friends. Still, I like the show and Sheldon makes me laugh out loud.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LG

      There are parallels to almost all incidents in TBBT with Friends. But yeah, I like TBBT too, at least the first four seasons. After that it seemed that the characters got too cardboard-y. I still watch them though.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. The V Pub

        I don’t know what season I’m watching right now, but I know they’re older ones. I think that the problem with sitcoms. They all become somewhat predictable as they age.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maha

    I love love waking up in the morning. My most productive days were when I would sleep with the kids at 8:30 P.M. and wake up at 4:30 A.M. 2 hours of me time, what’s not to love about that. Although I can’t do nothing, like your better half I need to hit the ground running. Needless to say by 6:00 in the evening my energy levels would plummet.

    First born has been asking to watch TBBT, we are not there yet. We have just started letting him watch PG 13 rated movies.

    Good luck with your work deadline.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LG

      The first three seasons of TBBT maybe ok for your son to watch. After that it has more sexual content, and you would have to decide. We were ok with V watching because anyway she reads books with PG content (When she read the perks of being a wallflower, I freaked. But she seems to handle them well).

      Like

      Reply
  3. Carol

    I am a slow mover in the mornings. When I was still working I would get up early enough to linger over a cup of coffee before I had to start moving. Now I linger for – hours. I have no responsibilities except to myself and my dogs, so it’s a pleasure I no longer need to feel guilty about. I haven’t watched Friends and have seen TBBT only occasionally, usually if one of the kids is here and wants to watch it. The sitcoms nowadays just don’t grab me at all. An obvious giveaway that I’m old, I guess.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LG

      On rewatching Friends, I can see why it appealed to me when I was 24. All the characters there were my age, and it resonated. Now, I find it juvenile and God, obsessed with sex. So obsessed. It irritates me.
      TBBT – I used to like it a lot for the science jokes, I’d look forward to each joke. Now those are gone, and it is really boring. I watched the 10th season yesterday, and fell asleep in the middle. I wasn’t even tired !

      Like

      Reply
  4. Hangaku Gozen

    I was never a regular Friends fan, but I knew people who were addicted to the show. My older daughter’s best friend in college almost failed to graduate because she spent all of her free time watching Friends instead of working on her senior thesis. The Big Bang Theory I haven’t liked as much, not because it’s contemporary version of Friends, but because it’s supposed to be a comedy about nerd culture, which I resented. The early season was almost all male; the one female character was just a romantic interest/tease for the “boys” in the show to drool over. Introducing a female nerd to be Sheldon’s girlfriend later in the show did not impress me, since she was the stereotype of a smart woman who is good in math and science: homely, an indifferent dresser, lacking emotion and empathy. When I said as much to a fan of the show however, he dismissed me, saying, “So you’d rather she was a smart perky blond who wears Victoria’s Secret?” It’s just pointless to argue with the show’s fans. I’d rather watch BBC mysteries and sci-fi shows and be a nerd than watch a show about nerds, I guess. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    1. LG

      HG, yes, that bothered me about the show as well. The two “smart women” were introduced almost as an afterthought, and they conform to stereotypes as well – one of them a homely automaton and the other a competitive neurotic.
      I liked it for the science-related jokes, which were very intelligent, but after the fifth season, those dwindled and TBBT became as sex-obsessed as Friends did after the fifth season. That’s one of the reasons I threw out my television in the US – the obsession with sex. There is more to life than sex, people !

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

