Daily Medley: 10-Oct-2016

Busy day and got a lot of work done.  Feeling exhausted but calm because I actually don’t have any “work” work for tomorrow.  However, I do have a lot of personal stuff planned.

Tomorrow is Vijayadasami, the Hindu auspicious day for beginning new stuff.  I have so much I want to resume – note I say resume, not begin.

  1. Practice the violin every day, even if only for ten minutes.  The left hand has become used to the fingering but the right arm still hurts with bowing.
  2. Practice vocal music every day, even if only for ten minutes.  I have let my voice go to ruin.  Singing is one of my few natural skills, and I need to not lose it to laziness.  Buck up LG.
  3. Resume Surya Namaskar. I could do with some flexibility that I seem to have lost lately.
  4. Practice meditation more diligently every day.
  5. Do some creative writing every day.  I have always wanted to write fiction, but realised a year ago that I am not capable of writing fiction because I am too prim and inhibited.  I need to find a way to overcome it. What better way to overcome it than beginning?

I want to resume gymming as well, but I don’t know how I will be able to squeeze it into my busy days.  Lets see.

If you were to begin/resume some new activity tomorrow, what would it be?

 

13 thoughts on “Daily Medley: 10-Oct-2016

    1. LG

      My husband plays the guitar, and he took to the violin effortlessly. I have never played any instrument before and hence I continue to kill cats one month into violin lessons !

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. The V Pub

        I’m sure that the cat mortality rate will fall soon enough. 😉 I tried to play mandolin, but I found the fretboard too narrow. Is violin equally as small?

        Like

  1. Maha

    Ok, for a question like that my answer would be to boil the ocean.

    1. Be more consistent with daily meditation – 10-15 mins.
    2. Be mindful – give it my all to the given moment – or atleast more than what I give now.
    2. Blog – discover my writing voice.
    3. Dance practice – 4 times per week

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Maha

        I would very much love that…! except that I have to bookmark this page to remind myself what I have committed myself to…! I also wanted to let you know that it’s good that you are giving writing fiction a second chance. If not anything, it will teach you more about yourself. That’s what dance is to me. I get frustrated that I am not as good at it, but how much it has taught me about me…! It has now become a medium through which I am discovering and creating myself.

        Like

  2. Hangaku Gozen

    I don’t need a new activity, but I do need to resume my workouts. I’ve been weightlifting (well, nothing impressive: roughly 20 pounds or two 10-pound weights) and doing bodyweight exercises, but thanks to yet another head cold, I stopped doing them. You would think I would stick to the regimen however, since I did lose five pounds in two months thanks to exercise.

    I would like to learn guitar, but I know too well I would never practice, arguing I don’t have the time. My son insists the guitar is much easier to play than say, the violin or piano, both of which he learned to play when younger. With arthritis creeping up in the right hand, I rather doubt any instrument would be easy for me to play.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      I went diligently to the gym for six months last year, and not only lost lbs, but also shaped up so well – I was the most shapely and healthy during that period than ever in my life ! Personal crisis at the start of the year made me take a break, and now I can’t get back. I feel that the gym does good to the mind as much as tot he body, and that is more important for me.

      Yes, learning the violin is very very hard. My right shoulder really hurts after just 10 minutes of playing. But that is also because of lack of practice. It doesn’t help that I am vocally trained, so I can’t stand myself sounding on the violin like a cat being strangled !

      Like

      Reply
  3. christybharath

    I’d totally start learning to play the mouth organ. Then, all I need to do is punch someone and go to jail. I’d pull out the mouth organ and start playing the blues. Life would be amazing.

    I have never understood the word ‘fiction’. The ‘genre’, yes sure. I keep associating the word with fantasy writing. For me – anything that doesn’t involve fantastical elements counts as ‘paraphrased facts’. All you need for that is to have stories that have happened to you. And you certainly seem to! Just write, LG. Any of these posts – you could turn into a chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      Yeah, as long as it involves only me, it would be fine. But life is never an isolated person is it? Writing about other characters who may be remotely connected to people around me is just plain wrong.
      Ah, scruples scruples..

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

