Share Your World:2016 Week 42

I’ve always been excited to read Carol’s Share your World posts, answering Cee’s questions of the week.  It gives me a peek into lives so far removed culturally and geographically from mine and reaffirms the common humanness that connects us all.

Here is my world this week.

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with? (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.)

Decluttering – my most favourite activity in life.  If you think that decluttering is a one-time operation, and once you declutter, you are set for life, you don’t know me at all. I am a clutter magnet.  I don’t know how I gather so much moss, it drives me crazy – I don’t even buy stuff too often.  It just must be that I know a lot of nice people who are giving me stuff all the time – stuff I don’t really need.  All you nice people, stop giving me stuff.

But answering the question – my kitchen.  I am always unhappy with my kitchen.  I seem to have too many things in the kitchen, but I can’t throw any of them away because I use all of them.  Part of the reason for kitchen clutter bothering me is that I only have open shelves, so there is no way of hiding the colour mismatched, size mismatched utensils and cans that I have in my shelves.  I could throw out all the mismatched items and buy matching ones, but that would involve spending money, which I dislike next to my kitchen.  Quoting Woody Allen, cheap is cheap and I am.

But on a philosophic level, the place that needs most decluttering is my head.

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?

None.  I just trust my head to remember.  If it forgets, it forgets. I believe that using external aids to remember undermines the brain’s ability and makes it dependent on external aids.  I only make lists when I have a lot of things to buy. Otherwise, no reminders, no lists, no string around my finger.  I have worked with multiple deadlines for the past 17 years, never used the calendar and I have not missed a single yet.

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize: sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?

Brightness would be most important aspect of my one-room retreat.  Natural light is great, but in its absence, I don’t mind artificial light.  But the room must be bright.  I like bare, white walls, with just one painting – the Gitopadesam that I had painted on glass.  I find this particular painting very inspirational and it reminds me to do my stuff without worrying about returns and outcomes.  On a tangential note – observe that this painting is not about Krishna delivering the Gitopadesam, but of Arjuna wielding his bow, ready to perform his duty, no matter the cost.

img_20161018_113542

My next would be smell – I love the smell of fresh jasmine in the room.  Or an incense stick.  My family is allergic to strong smells, so I avoid all forms of fragrances – including perfume, and you are looking at a woman, who in her pre-marital years, had a dense cloud of Revlon Charlie around at all times. So, in  a retreat just for myself, I would definitely be surrounded by flowers, incense sticks, unwrapped soap (mysore sandal anyone?) and a generous dose of perfume on the upholstery.

I also love silence.  I don’t get enough of it in my house, given that the other two members can’t exist without music. So my sanctuary would be completely sound proof.

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

None.  The past is past.  They have already given me what they could – the set of genes that defines me.  I don’t need to know more.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that nothing untoward happened last week (yeah, I am a worrier). I am looking forward to getting a lot of work done this week.

8 thoughts on “Share Your World:2016 Week 42

  1. The V Pub

    I also like a well lit room. It keeps me productive during the day. But clutter? I think most people would walk into my studio and find a tangle of wires everywhere. A necessary evil, I think!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Maha

    So many similarities. On first question, the whole house is a war struck zone., I would start with paper work and art work for decluttering. On your second question, I do make lists, I do jot down on my calendar but I don’t look at either. If it’s not registered in my head, making noting of them does not make a difference. Unlike you though, I have dropped the ball on several occasions. The only requirement for my retreat would be natural light with a window so I can listen to natural sounds if I feel upto. No other sounds or smell please. None of my ancestors come to my mind either. Bonus question – thankful for being able to squeeze an extra dance class. Looking forward to some quiet family time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      Natural sounds are ok with me too – bird tweeting, crickets chirping…It is manmade sounds that get to me more often than not.
      I like music, I like to sit and deliberately listen to music. I don’t like music going in the background as I do other stuff. It is too distracting for me. And disrespectful to music itself.

      Good about the dance. Hope you can squeeze in time for dance often.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

