Daily Medley: 19-Oct-2016

 

Today, I took my aunt to the doctor again.  Just one this time, the one hard of hearing.  So, there was not much crosstalk like last time. The take-home lesson of today was this: If you have diabetes, and are on medication, you must make sure you eat something every couple of hours, so that you don’t become hypoglycemic like my aunt had become.

Talking of medical advice, another oldie in my family called me frantically last night and was hysteric “my random blood sugar is 150, am I going to die”?  I don’t know why my aged relatives think I am a doctor of medicine, they make a beeline to me when they have a medical panic situation, but for this one I had an answer “if you are so keen on dying, why don’t you come here and I will pack you off?  150 is ok for your age,so stop freaking out”.  She was offended that I was nonchalant about her fear and that I did not fall on her shoulders and cry “oh my darling, I won’t let you die”,  but when she told her doctor about her 150 and he pooh-poohed it as well, adding “you are such a hypochondriac”, she forgave me for my reaction.

Interacting with so many oldies is teaching me a lot of lessons:

  1.  Hypochondria is a nuisance.
  2. Always be economically independent: while I am only happy to be able to support my aunt’s medical needs, she feels uncomfortable to be dependent on me and my cousin financially.  I hope I never have to experience that.
  3. Organize a paid support system for emergencies – I had set up a geriatric home visit system for my grandmother for the past five years, and it was very helpful.  The aunt and the other oldie with blood sugar of 150 refuse to avail of such services because it makes them look old and helpless.  I can only roll my eyes at them.
  4. Talk less. Senility, coupled with a loose-cannon mouth can be damaging.

But who knows what my old age has in store for me?

**

I had a meeting with a client today at her lab, to better understand her research in order to write a report for her group.  It made me briefly wistful about not going out to work.  I lay down and the feeling went away.

**

I wrote my weekly article for another client on social media.  I wrote about a thousand words in half an hour, and actually liked the article – it seemed logical, had a lot of interesting facts and reads well.  Its rare that an article I wrote in one sitting comes out good.  Endorphins, yay !

**

Someway along the day, I had the following conversation with the kid.  I had to leave the kid alone at home for a couple of hours as I took my aunt to the doctor.

Me:  See, you are going to be alone at home.  Be responsible.  Perhaps you can assume this is the house you have set up…so maybe, clean it up, etc.

Kid: You wish. If this were the house I set up, it would not be so boring.  It would be decorated all funky.

Me:  Then assume that it is your funkily decorated house, and clean it.

Kid:  I can assume that it is funkily decorated, if you can assume that the house is clean already.

I hate to say it, but Touché, my girl.

**

I hate to ingest medication of any kind, but looks like I cannot give the ol’ acetaminophen a miss today, a migraine looms large, and I have a dinner guest tonight.

**

Tooddles.

8 thoughts on “Daily Medley: 19-Oct-2016

  1. Maha

    Looks like I am not the only that loved the conversation with the kid…! . Here’s one from our household. As I was insisting to Hari that he is not allowed to go to soccer because he seemed like he was coming down with something, the younger one becomes his advocate. “Amma, your name is not Hari so you do not know how he feels. It is his body, so he knows whether or not he is sick. You cannot tell him what to do.” Gosh, not only do I need to convince the sick child, but have to convince his brother. Grrrr…!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hangaku Gozen

    I’ve found that people with hypochondria are usually lonely and bored. My poor landlady, who says she hates socializing with “strangers” and who never developed any activities or interests outside of work, is always going to the doctor for complaints of one variety or another. As soon as she gets the medication, she says she feels ill as well, and refuses to play. I guess I need to be the change in the world some day!

    Like

    Reply
    1. LG

      Exactly. Perhaps I am being too judgmental – but in my family, I find that the generation before my previous – my grandparents’ generation, had a lot of hobbies and activities and they never sought attention. My parents’ generation – aunts etc., have not developed any hobbies in life, and so, are so focused on themselves. Which makes them seek attention though various means, hypochondria being one of them.
      I hope I maintain my hobbies as I age.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

