The past is not gone

I went out today for the first time in many days (thanks to the viral), to run errands – pay credit card bill, buy vegetables etc.  The festive look the city bears now gave me a jolt – Deepavali (Diwali) is a couple of days away and I have not even picked up the new clothes from the tailor yet.  A WhatsApp picture of padusha made by my very good (but annoyingly active) friend hinted that I should be thinking about making goodies too.  The murukku press that I brought from my parents’ house (my grandmother would not part with it as long as she lived, but now that she is gone, it is mine) a couple of weeks back, seductively beckons me.  The cells of the body, that didn’t get the memo yet that the virus has gone, however, rebel.

Still, to get out of inertia and to refresh the memory for recipes, I googled “manankombu” and what I do I get ?  A blog post that I wrote eight years ago, which had miraculously escaped my axe.  Actually, this is not the first time this old blog of mine has crossed my stream of consciousness.  My friend G (yeah, the one with the padusha) had stumbled into this blog a few days back and had sent me the link.  I let that pass by, but the blog swam into my ken again today – so it must be a message of sorts, although, I can’t for the life of me, figure it out.

Nevertheless, some posts I wrote when I was an innocent, nubile young thing are here.  I feel icky reading the posts now (except the ones about my kid, who was five then, which bring tears to my eyes), as I would be, reading this post eight years hence.  Nevertheless, just for the record…

 

2 thoughts on “The past is not gone

  1. Hangaku Gozen

    Is typepad still free to old Vox bloggers? I considered keeping my blog there after Vox shuttered its doors, but when all of my “neighbors” on Vox declared they were moving to WordPress, I decided to follow them. I feel mildly nostalgic for those days at Vox, but given the bugs that began plaguing the site in its later days, it doesn’t seem to warrant it. I also haven’t looked at any of my older posts in years. Maybe I should give them a read over just to how I’ve changed.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      I liked vox for the possibility to alter privacy levels on a post-by-post basis. It allowed me to post photos of people, and restrict the viewers to people I trusted, in the same blog in which I wrote other things. I believe in WP I can still do it by password protecting posts and sharing the password to people I trust. Seems like a bit of a pain to do that – for example, I would share photos of my family with you, but I don’t know your email id to share the password with. I’d rather add you, like I did in vox, to my trusted people’s list and not do anything other than mark my post as being open only to the list.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

