Share Your World – 2016 Week 44

Questions from Cee.

What was your favorite subject in school?

English.  Tamil.  Biology.

Ironically, I went on to major in Chemistry in under- and post- grad, which had never been my favourite subject,  because that’s what my dad wanted me to major in  – “what job would you get if you studied literature?  Do you want to be a school teacher?” being his argument.  I would have loved being a school teacher, but I could (can) never argue.   I was a quality control chemist in a couple of pharmaceutical companies in the US, but I hated it.  Through trial and error, and many a false start, I finally ended up doing what I love – use my chemistry knowledge and love of language to become a science-writer.  Yay.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do? 

I have a maid come for about an hour everyday. V hand washes our clothes, washes dishes and sweeps and (occasionally) mops our floor. But more than that, she is a good friend, and we chat about this and that, vent our frustrations and worries, and she gives the best neck massage ever.

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

Same town.  In my ancestral house that has recently become mine, with grandma’s death.

In your opinon, list some places that are great for shopping?

I hate shopping.  I prefer shopping in small shops rather than large superstores.  I like to be specific when I am shopping and stick to the list.  I have some specific shops that I buy stuff from – pazamudhir cholai in Gandhinagar for my vegetables and fruits, Raja store for my groceries, Shanthi’s for my clothes and RS for my art supplies and fashion jewellery.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful for all the free time I had last week, and that nothing untoward happened.

More than looking forward, I am hoping to have a week that is not stressful.

9 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 44

  1. Maha

    1. I wish I had thought about becoming a teacher. I would have loved it for so many reasons. My favorite subject was English until 10th, then economics and accountancy after that.

    2. No, I don’t want daily help, I want to take care of the everyday stuff by ourselves. But I am grateful for the help that I receive from my cleaner who comes in every two weeks. Like you, I share a very personal relationship with her. Instead of a maid for two hours, I would like two extra hours in my day marked for decluttering.

    3. Third grade was Chennai. No, I am not living there now. But I wish I visited long enough to reacquaint myself with the city.

    4. Never heard of Shanthi’s. Shopping places – Amazon, Ikea, Trader’s Joe, come to mind.

    5. Grateful for a relaxed Sat. and Sunday last week. Looking forward to visit by a niece (not by blood but by choice) this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      Trader Joe – I have never shopped there, but every time my cousin visits, he gets me goodies from there. I don’t know how you guys can resist going to Trader Joes every day.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Maha

        I go to TJ’s more for the experience than for the goods. It’s good for dairy but not for veggies. It’s good for chocolates but not great for snacks. Typically I am in and out of the store in 20 mins and it’s 5 mins away from home. The lines are much shorter, and the folks at the counter are really pleasant. They treat you as a person not as a customer. And best of all, you have limited choices. So I have tweaked our grocery needs to what is available in TJs.

        Like

Leave a Reply

