Birdie

No, I am not referring to my late Tamil teacher from school who creeped the heck out of us.  I meant the white-throated kingfisher that perched on the gate-rod outside our house.

screen-shot-2016-11-26-at-2-29-32-pm

The wooded campus in which we live, houses a small pond-of-sorts (which is now dry, thanks to monsoon failure), surrounded by marshland.  It is home to migratory birds in winter.  Apparently they have arrived.  I am not sure if kingfishers are migratory, Wikipedia tells me that these are partly migratory, whatever that means.

There is another bird that I see every winter, in the woods in my backyard.  I am no ornithophile, (I know the name of the bird on my gate because I shared the photo with an ornithophilic friend, who mentioned its name in holy rapture) so I don’t know the name of the regular visitor – she is a brown bird who camouflages beautifully with the woods, but when she flies, her elegantly long white wings are unexpected for so plain a creature on land.  I searched for “ugly brown bird with beautiful wings” on google images and landed on the following picture, in an obscure site with no name – yeah that’s the bird (not the exact same bird, but you know what I mean) in my backyard. I am sure my ornithophile friend would know its name.  This is an elusive bird to photograph (not that I have tried too hard).

brown-bird

Regular bird walks are conducted in our neighbourhood, and I have gone on a couple.  But the facts that these walks start at 5.30 AM and  that people point randomly in all directions and call out names like “moor hen” or “grey headed stork” or something, when all I can see are some misshapen tree branches, have prevented me from going on them more frequently.  Perhaps I should hang a pair of binoculars around my neck like the others, equip myself with names of exotic birds from Wikipedia and randomly spew them out during these bird-walks.  Must be fun, no?

8 thoughts on “Birdie

  1. christybharath

    Such a cutie piece, this is.

    “Perhaps I should hang a pair of binoculars around my neck like the others, equip myself with names of exotic birds from Wikipedia and randomly spew them out during these bird-walks”

    Yes. yes YES please!

    The beautiful brown birdie (giggles) is the Indian Pond Heron, LG!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Hangaku Gozen

    I thought the brown bird looked a lot like the bittern. We see a similar bird here in CA, though it’s more often seen in marshes and ponds in the Bay Area than in the Central Valley where I live.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yellow_bittern

    If you ever need a bird identified, try asking weggieboy, another WP friend. He is a bird watcher and quite good at identifying migrating and marsh birds.
    https://phainopepla95.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LG

      Yes, it’s a bittern alright. Locally it is called Indian pond heron it seems, according to my ornithologist friend.
      Thanks for the link. I have added weggieboy to my reader.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

