Share Your World: Week 49

Answering Cee’s questions of the week, wearing my heart on my sleeves.

What do you value most in a friendship?

I used to overthink everything.  But 2016, being crappy as it was, had a silver lining – it initiated me into vipassana as a coping mechanism.    It would be  pretentious,  fraudulent and hypocritical if I were to claim that I am a practitioner of vipassana, because if the practice be an ocean, I ain’t even a droplet yet.  But the most important lesson I have learned is – just let things be.

All that’s fine and dandy, just try practicing it.  Especially if you were me. It has taken me months to even break into the practice of letting things be. Heaven knows that I try.  When I am miserable, I just rant a bit, without qualifying the misery, and then let go.  When I am happy, I try to just be happy without analyzing the cause, and let go.  Long way to attain the goal, but trying could be half the battle won, despite Yoda’s disapproval.

How does that answer the question?  I try to not value anything IN any relationship. I just let the relationship be.  My friends are my friends.  Period.

Do you prefer eating the frosting of the cake or the cupcake first?  Do you prefer a specific flavor?

Ha.  What a contrast from the previous question.  Much as I claim to love sweets, I can’t stand frosting.  I remove the frosting from the cupcake before eating it.  I miss cupcakes, though.  The kind we get in India is too sweet or smells of cardboard from the box it comes packaged in.Frosting over that?  Ew.

Have you ever been in a submarine?  If you haven’t, would you want to?

As with Cee’s answer, if it were a yellow submarine, with the Beatles boys in it, why not?  Else, no.  Closed and under the sea?  Thank you, I’ll pass.  I used to be friends with someone who has been in a submarine. She awed me.

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

The answer is the same as that to the first question.  I don’t want to know.  I just am.  You just are.  As my dear friend quoted in her blog: He is he, she is she, you are you, and that will be”.

5 thoughts on “Share Your World: Week 49

  1. Maha

    Very nice…!

    1. The ability to have honest, candid conversations
    2. No frosting for me. Like chocolate and red velvet
    3. Took a look inside a submarine in CT museum. The lifestyle that they manage to provide inside a submarine is kind of cool given the constraints.
    4. Comparing my satisfaction with 99 others is apples to oranges comparison. So not sure I have a response to that.

    I love this exercise!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

