The hamster wheel

I know I am copying my friend and namesake’s latest post title, but “hamster wheel” has been on my mind as well since morning as I stepped out of the bed and the first thing that I thought about was the various meals I needed to make during the day.  And the endless chores around the house.  When I analyse my frustration, I know I wouldn’t have it any other way – I’d probably go crazy if I didn’t have a (a) routine and (b) lot of work to do.  Still, it would be nice to not be responsible for people’s food all the time.  But yeah, I am just complaining for the sake of complaining.   When Laksh writes about the sink full of dishes, even on the day you order out, I realised that I am not the only one that is hard on herself all the time.

I was out running errands yesterday evening when I got repeated calls from a neighbour as I was driving. Fearing an emergency, I pulled over and called her back.  The woman was nearing hysteria – “you are moving?  I wish you weren’t, I will miss you, my children will miss your daughter….I feel so bad”.  It took me a few seconds to realise that the furniture store was delivering cots we had ordered (the husband was attending to it at home) and seeing the moving van, she had believed we were moving.  I could hear the relief in her voice when I clarified that we were just getting cots delivered and not moving, at least not yet.  I felt warm and fuzzy inside.  I love my neighbourhood, and I am not looking forward to moving out of here. Let’s see how things pan out over the next few weeks.

On that positive note, I will stop for now.  Mostly because I have some documents to edit and if I didn’t get to them now, my clients would go for my throat.

Have a good weekend, junta.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The hamster wheel

  1. Maha

    Yeah, the non-negotiable nature of providing food is frustrating at times. The chopping, the cooking, the cleaning – the never ending rigmarole!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Messy thoughts | Gobblefunk Words

Leave a Reply

