Surly Sunday

WordPress is getting on my nerves.  It keeps asking me if it can take up more space on my computer to install some database called calypso. I don’t want it to because the whole reason I am subscribing to all those charming wordpress blogs  is that they are in the net and do not hog my computer’s storage.  But by the time I have typed out these two sentences the annoying popup has irritated me thrice.  The solution is to clear my cache and saved history on my browser, but that would mean having to log into the many sites that I have running.  Besides, earlier, whenever this happened, and I cleared my cache, the annoying popup would not surface for at least  a week.  These days, a day is all the break I get before the popup appears and annoys the heck out of me. I am going to tag this post as “WordPress” so that if the wordpress designers is reading it, they would fix it for me (and possibly for others who are being driven nuts by the popup that just appeared for the seventh time already, good grief).  Wordpress, you are driving me crazy.

**

My blessed hormones are completely out of control. Not only are the dreams giving me a migraine when I wake up, every wakeful moment is like a tsunami inside. To dissipate all that energy, and to remove the mental clutter, I decluttered my kitchen today in a state of frenzy.  But what bothers me terribly is that no amount of cleaning is making any difference because the stuff I have – the utensils, containers, gadgets – are all old by at least a decade.  They look dull.  Like I mentioned in an earlier post, my lack of self-compassion, which finds such lacklustre stuff domestic, homely and comforting in other people’s houses, looks ugly and depressing in mine.   And my inherently penny-pinching temperament (read: cheap) is preventing me from splurging on a new kitchen.

**

I attempted some retail therapy – not that I enjoy shopping one bit, if any, it gets me more flustered with all the choices and the inherent indecision in me.  We had accumulated quite a few reward points on the credit card over the past few years and an insider from the bank warned us to use up the points before they go with the wind.  Since the rest of the family couldn’t find anything useful to buy, I was left to clutter my home with stuff I don’t need, just because someone was giving it to us for free (read: cheap). So, I ordered bedspreads/pillow cases (the ones we are lying on now have seen much better days), a lunch box for the kid (after all, the academic year is drawing to a close and I would need fresh school supplies for the new year), a few utensils and storage containers(hoping to replace the dull old ones that depress me, but I doubt if they will – the dullness is inside me, not outside),  and with a few tens of points left over, a couple of dozen pens (after all, pens are so important for a family of writers, who don’t hand-write anymore).

**

The week begins tomorrow and my vegetable rack is stark naked.  Our local shopping centre is closed on Sundays, and I am in no mood to go shopping for vegetables today.  My creativity will be tested tomorrow for making breakfast and lunch with the mismatched items I have in my pantry.

Inefficiency, is thy name Gobblefunkist !

**

And let’s not even go into politics today.  The migraine from morning has just reduced to a dull headache.  We don’t want to pop a vein now.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Surly Sunday

  1. personalreviewblog

    that’s a bummer to have no fresh veggie. I find that it really helps especially during that time. There might be some grocery giants that delivers to your area? I like to go grocery shopping, but those grocery delivery companies can def come in very handy!

    Like

    Reply
    1. gobblefunkist Post author

      I don’t like buying vegetables by proxy – I need to see and feel them before I pay for them.
      Thankfully the greens (spinach) selling lady came down our alley early this morning. So problem solved !

      Like

      Reply
  2. Hangaku Gozen

    I wonder if the popup or Calypso is unique to WP users in India. I’ve never had an issue with either, though I’m just a freebie user of WordPress. Maybe this occurs only with professional users who subscribe to the paid version?

    I hear you on shopping and replacing old things. I also had some reward points which were due to expire next month, so I went on shopping spree for clothes. I was still wearing outfits I bought 12 years ago, and since I also hate shopping, there was little incentive to replace them unless they were literally falling apart at the seams. Now I have to go through my closet and toss out the things I haven’t worn in awhile; otherwise, I have no space to hang the new clothes. I also hate cleaning out my closet, so having these new clothes don’t make me happier: they irritate me. I would love to have a new kitchen, however. I miss cooking, even if it’s just for myself now.

    Like

    Reply
    1. gobblefunkist Post author

      Oh, I am a freebie user too…so that is not an issue. Yesterday, as I was typing out the post, I pressed enter just when the popup appeared, effectively allowing calypso to use 10 MB space on my system. I don’t know how to undo it now. Oh bother.

      I doubt if I would ever miss cooking.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Hangaku Gozen

        Well, no wonder you don’t want to spend any money on new kitchen stuff! 🙂 I will say, now that I’m living alone, I enjoy that I can cook whatever I like and not have to worry if the family will like it. If I want to eat steamed vegetables over rice, great, I don’t have to worry about someone complaining, “Ewww! Gross!” If I want to eat just a cup of Greek yogurt with berries for dinner, I can do that because I don’t have to worry about someone else demanding a more substantial entree. It’s very liberating.

        Like

Leave a Reply

