Crazy idea

I am having this crazy idea.  Take the week off. Tell all clients to go jump, so I can brush my teeth in the morning without simultaneously listing all the documents I need to work on for the day. Spend the days maybe meditating, sketching, painting, reading my kindle and throwing in a siesta for good measure?  Hmm…sounds divine.

I can’t fruitily the crazy idea because

(a) I’d kill my career – my clients work on deadlines and letting them down in the last minute would effectively alienate them.

(b) My brain would kill me without having something objective and tangible to hold on to.

Am I hanging on to a tiger’s tail?

4 thoughts on “Crazy idea

    1. gobblefunkist Post author

      Yes, I think I need to do this. I have been working non-stop since the week I took off last June. I can feel the fatigue. I was hoping to save this week-off for a summer trip somewhere, but I think I need a break now. All work and no rest is not healthy.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Hangaku Gozen

    I hear ya. You can’t stop working because “PEOPLE DEPEND ON YOU!” and the money is nice, too. But it would be so nice not to have to get up and have to think about all those tasks on your to-do list.

    I will agree with the previous comment. Schedule a week off, and stick to it, no matter how much your clients beg you to do “one more thing.” One disadvantage of working as a freelancer is that there’s no sense of boundaries or breaks. Unless you’re firm about nobody bothering you during lunch or your vacation, they will do it, and will continue to do it until you say, “Stop please.”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

