Song of the day – 1

Rob tagged me to this:

The rules are to post the lyrics of a favorite song five days in a row, explain what they mean to you (if you like) and add the video if available. 

I am also supposed to nominate two bloggers to carry on the meme, but I would like to leave that open.  Anyone who blogs, reads this post and wants to take it on, please do, and link back to this post so we can all read about your choices of songs. You may also leave your choice in the comment section here.

**

I studied in a convent school.  Every morning before classes started, we had “assembly” in the grounds.  Until class five, the entire student body would chant “Our father in heaven, holy be thy name” prayer, and the music teacher would start a song that the rest of the  mob would join in on, in various pitches and tunes, followed by announcements that no one would pay attention to.  The “senior assembly” was in the adjacent ground.  Each class took up a week of assembly duties, design a thematic ten minute program that involved formulation of an appropriate prayer, leading the congregation in a related song and an orator from the specific class would “make a speech” about the topic before the formal announcements were made, to which no one paid any attention.

On the last week of my 12th class, our class took up the theme of “farewell”.  We pestered our music teacher (Mrs. Alice, who also was a math teacher)  to suggest five farewell songs.  The songs she suggested were :  “auld lang sine”, “good bye, farewell” (from The Sound of Music), “we thank our God for you”, “I believe” and a fifth song that I had completely forgotten.

Yesterday, stuck in traffic jam and station-hopping on my car radio, I stumbled upon a song that sounded vaguely familiar.  And then it struck me.  This was the fifth farewell song we had learned.  The last time I sang this was twenty five years ago, and I still remembered the lyrics.

The lyrics:

Once upon a time there was a tavern
Where we used to raise a glass or two
Remember how we laughed away the hours
And dreamed of all the great things we could do

Those were the days my friend
We thought they’d never end
We’d sing and dance forever and a day
We’d live the life we choose
We’d fight and never lose
For we were young and sure to have our way.

Then the busy years went rushing by us
We lost our starry notions on the way
If by chance I’d see you in the tavern
We’d smile at one another and we’d say

Those were the days my friend
We thought they’d never end
We’d sing and dance forever and a day
We’d live the life we choose
We’d fight and never lose
Those were the days, oh yes those were the days
La la la la…

Just tonight I stood before the tavern
Nothing seemed the way it used to be
In the glass I saw a strange reflection
Was that lonely woman really me

Those were the days my friend
We thought they’d never end
We’d sing and dance forever and a day
We’d live the life we choose
We’d fight and never lose
Those were the days, oh yes those were the days
La la la la

Through the door there came familiar laughter
I saw your face and heard you call my name
Oh my friend we’re older but no wiser
For in our hearts the dreams are still the same

Those were the days my friend
We thought they’d never end
We’d sing and dance forever and a day
We’d live the life we choose
We’d fight and never lose
Those were the days, oh yes those were the days
La la la la…

 

 

7 thoughts on “Song of the day – 1

    1. Gobblefunkist Post author

      Oh, I am completely and utterly anti-nostalgia now. Nostalgia is an illness that needs to be treated.
      My post wasn’t meant to be nostalgic one bit. Just a recollection of events associated with the song. I have no pangs of anything about my past. If any I am glad they are over and I will never need to live through them again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

