Song of the day – 3

Rob tagged me to this:

The rules are to post the lyrics of a favorite song five days in a row, explain what they mean to you (if you like) and add the video if available. 

I am also supposed to nominate two bloggers to carry on the meme, but I would like to leave that open.  Anyone who blogs, reads this post and wants to take it on, please do, and link back to this post so we can all read about your choices of songs. You may also leave your choice in the comment section here.

**

I have an excess of left feet.  I am a klutz of the highest order. I walk like a duck, run like a wobbly spring, and am inelegant to the core.  Any physical movement I make is always associated  with an accident –  I knock something down, hit someone, or in general look like an octopus on LSD. I am also extremely self-conscious.  And tightly wound.  I have always had an intense yearning to dance, but the combination of multiple left legs and self-consciousness has consistently stopped me from shaking a leg.

Twenty years ago, I once visited a dance pub in Nashville and was amazed at how people danced with complete abandon and the joy on their faces.  I wanted that.

Soon enough,  there was a Diwali party for the desi students in the US, and a “free-for-all dance session” at the end of the program with Bollywood numbers being pelted on the stereo.  For once, I forgot my inelegance and self-consciousness and shook more than a few legs, only to soon find a friend (?!) mocking me and imitating the way I danced, to a bunch that was roaring with laughter (15-25 year old boys can be jerks).  My heart broke and that was the last time I danced in public.

In private, when I know no one’s watching, I sometimes pretend that I am a diva and attempt to dance. I am sure I look ridiculous, but I really enjoy it.  I usually dance to the following song by Madonna.  One of my dreams is to take the dance floor and dance like no one’s watching, along with others who won’t mock at me. Perhaps Madonna wrote this for me “I’m tired of dancing here all by myself, Tonight I want to dance with someone else”

And you can dance
For inspiration
Come on
I’m waiting

Get into the groove
Boy you’ve got to prove
Your love to me, yeah
Get up on your feet, yeah
Step to the beat
Boy what will it be

Music can be such a revelation
Dancing around you feel the sweet sensation
We might be lovers if the rhythm’s right
I hope this feeling never ends tonight

Only when I’m dancing can I feel this free
At night I lock the doors, where no one else can see
I’m tired of dancing here all by myself
Tonight I want to dance with someone else

Get into the groove
Boy you’ve got to prove
Your love to me, yeah
Get up on your feet, yeah
Step to the beat
Boy what will it be

Gonna get to know you in a special way
This doesn’t happen to me every day
Don’t try to hide it love wears no disguise
I see the fire burning in your eyes

Only when I’m dancing can I feel this free
At night I lock the doors, where no one else can see
I’m tired of dancing here all by myself
Tonight I want to dance with someone else

Get into the groove
Boy you’ve got to prove
Your love to me, yeah
Get up on your feet, yeah
Step to the beat
Boy what will it be

Live out your fantasy here with me
Just let the music set you free
Touch my body, and move in time
Now I now you’re mine

You’ve got to

Get into the groove
Boy you’ve got to prove
Your love to me, yeah
Get up on your feet, yeah
Step to the beat
Boy what will it be

Only when I’m dancing can I feel this free
At night I lock the doors, where no one else can see
I’m tired of dancing here all by myself
Tonight I want to dance with someone else

Live out your fantasy here with me
Just let the music set you free
Touch my body, and move in time
Now I now you’re mine

Now I know you’re mine, now I know you’re mine
Now I know you’re mine, now I know you’re mine
You’ve got to

Get into the groove
Boy you’ve got to prove
Your love to me, yeah
Get up on your feet, yeah
Step to the beat
Boy what will it be

2 thoughts on “Song of the day – 3

  1. Hangaku Gozen

    I’m sorry those boys and your so-called friend hurt your feelings. Dancing, especially at a party, should be a fun thing. If someone is just watching people to make fun of them, they ought to be confronted and made fun of themselves. “Why aren’t you on the floor? ‘Cause you’re a schlump at dancing? Too embarrassed to admit you can’t dance?”

    These days I get made fun of because I’m “too old to be shaking your thing.” I don’t care—one of the joys of growing old is that you don’t give a damn what people think of you anymore. Sadly, however, there are fewer occasions where I can dance these days. All of my friends are growing older, and they all complain of bad knees, backs, hips. It’s quite sad, and irritating, since they can all walk to the buffet by themselves just fine. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Gobblefunkist Post author

      I can’t find a single party where people dance any more. Can you believe that my peers are only in their forties and already behave like they have one foot in the grave?

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

