Sharing my world

Sharing my world with questions from Ribbonrx.com through Cee this week.

What’s something you like to do the old-fashioned way?

I cook rice the old fashioned way.  I use a bronze pot to cook rice and decant the excess starchy water from the top after the rice is done.  Every time. I cook pongal also in a bronze pot, but don’t drain out the water.

We recently removed the air conditioner unit from the bedroom.  Last night was infernally hot, but I did not for a moment want to get back on the A/C bandwagon.

I prefer to buy my vegetables and groceries from small scale shops than supermarkets.  Those are getting rarer though.

I am not a nostalgic person, so my need to do these things the old fashioned way, is not as much from romantic memories, but more practical implications – pongal in bronze pot tastes better, rice in bronze pot and decanted is lighter on the stomach, and I don’t want to add to my already strong carbon footprint (I drive a car) in this world.  My preference for small shops is that there is less choice – options confuse me.

I sometimes wonder if I must start wearing a saree on a regular/daily basis. In fact a few years ago, I did wear a saree on a daily basis for about a year.  Every day I take out a saree to wear and religiously put it back in because I have to go for a walk, or it’s too hot, or well…the old, worn out, faded salwar just looks so much more comfortable.

Oh, I would love it if people wrote the old-fashioned way – not in terms of the tools they use for writing, e-writing is just fine – but you know, use full forms of words and be a little more conscientious about grammar etc.  Even in informal communication.

What’s your favorite genre of book or movie?

Depends on my mood.  I don’t like gory violence in books or movies.

How often do you people watch?

I never watch people.  I experience times.  For example, I love being out between 7-9 in the morning, and walk past houses, taking in the sounds and smells of busy-ness.  Likewise, I like walking around at dusk, watching society wind down.   I am not very observant about people.  I don’t believe others are as well, so it always takes me by surprise when someone says “remember the earring you were wearing the other day?” People notice such stuff?

What have you only recently formed an opinion about

Meditation.  But spirituality is an intensely personal thing, and I would rather not talk about it here.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Grateful: Nothing untoward happened over the week.

Looking forward to the kid’s school reopening.  And covering her books with brown paper.  And feeling her new books, and smelling them….am I a nerd or what?

8 thoughts on “Sharing my world

  1. Maha

    I nodded my heads on some of things you mentioned – not noticing stuff, choices confusing, and meditation being recent discovery.

    1. Boiling milk on stove top and making it frothy (just love love serving frothy milk and coffee, I don’t like using microwave at all), doing namaskaram to my dance teacher before and after class (it grounds me, it’s my way of reaffirming that I don’t take this opportunity for granted), not removing my wedding chain (no superstition or religious significance attached to it, I grew up seeing my mom treat it with respect), wearing santhooram when I wear pottu (a childhood habit that I unintentionally stick to).

    2. Favorite genre of books – memoirs. Favorite genre of movies – chick flicks

    3. Hmmm not sure, not as often, but I slow down. Mostly at the school bus stop when I am waiting with Ram – after the hustle and bustle of the morning routine, that’s when I took a moment to really see the child – oh your lips are dry Ram, I have to buy a new shoes for you, etc. I love watching kids interact.

    4. Meditation – as something that is worth exploring.

    5. Grateful for a weekend free of activities – the opportunity to slow down. Looking forward to this weekend – being disciplined.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Carol

    Perhaps I’ll do this today. Don’t want to lock myself into anything yet, though, just in case someone comes to my door to present me with a wonderful opportunity for a trip to the coast or something. Yeah. That’ll happen! It’s interesting, the things that matter to us and the things we notice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Thoughts Unlimited

Leave a Reply

