Sharing my world

Answering Cee 

When writing by hand do you prefer to use a pencil or pen?

The horror.

I have a lot to be thankful for about technology, the most important and irreplaceable thing being – I don’t have to hand write anything anymore.  Hallelujah.

I have always had horrible handwriting.  My teachers were exasperated in school with me – how can an otherwise intelligent and sincere kid be such a bad hand-writer, was the constant refrain.  My chemistry teacher (a terror of sorts) made me write a page of stuff in English and submit to her every day in my eleventh class, with the hope of reforming me, but gave it up as a bad job within a week.  My Tamil teacher (another terror of sorts) made me write one page of Tamil every day for months before giving up on me.  Cheques have been dishonoured because my signature varies on an hourly basis.  When I write on the white board in my daughter’s room, attempting to teach her something, she has this look of “what’s that squiggly thing there?” about her.

I have tried writing using ink pens, ball point pens, sketch pens, calligraphy pens, lead pencils, colour pencils,  crayons, charcoal – name it.  I have tried writing over lines in ruled notebooks, between lines, in unruled notebooks, on bond paper, on chart paper, on black boards, on white boards….none has made a difference in my life.

When I touched the keyboard of my guide’s computer to type out my master’s project report when I was in my first grad school, I knew I had arrived.  God bless technology.

Would you rather be an amazing dancer or an amazing singer? 

Dancer.  Because I am already a singer (although not “amazing”), and not by choice.  My family always pushed me to sing because that was what was “expected of me” and just because my ancestors had good singing voices.  Singing is a chore to me.

If you were on a debate team, what subject would you relish debating? 

I used to be on the debate club in school.  I could argue at will on any topic.  I could argue for a topic for ten minutes, then turn around and argue against the topic with equal verve.  A sort of intellectual masturbation.  The dusty file in my father’s house has many certificates proclaiming my debating skills.

I don’t like to debate and argue any more.  I don’t need to prove my point to anyone.  Half the time, I don’t even have a point to prove.  What was that you said – a pink crow?  Oh yes, you are right.

What are you a “natural” at doing? 

I seriously don’t know.  I am tempted to say that writing comes naturally to me, but that is half-truth.  I can’t write in all genres, for instance.  I am dismal with fiction.  I can’t write poetry that doesn’t rhyme.  I can’t quote Nietszhe and not sound like a pretentious prick. So, no…I don’t know.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Grateful for a relatively peaceful week.

Looking forward:  Umm..it’s going to be PMS week, so I am not really looking forward to anything.

 

3 thoughts on “Sharing my world

Leave a Reply

