Rant fest

I am not a very happy camper today for a lot of reasons.   I know I am harping, but I wish my better half had never gifted me the MAC and gotten me used to the beautiful laptop.  This HP is driving me nuts.  The keyboard makes my hand hurt, and the trackpad is making me scream with its jerky movements. Also, the scroll lock is on, and I don’t know how to unlock it.  None of the google suggestions work. Darn.  I was perfectly happy with my crappy windows machine before the MAC came along, now I am spoilt and cant seem to go back.

Oh, the agony of the previledged lot.

It has been a hellish day outside as well. HOT. And it is only midmorning yet.  The family bit the dust and refixed the A/C unit.  But the A/C does not agree with me either.  Being in A/C gives me a migraine, being outside gives me a splitting headache, so either way I am attached to another object by an inclined plane, wrapped helically around an axis, as Sheldon would say.

Today is a state-wide strike, called by the farmer federation of the state, protesting against the non-availability of water for agriculture.  My neighbour’s father has acres of agricutural land in the Delta corridor, but has not been able to do any agriculture because the water from the dams, meant for agriculture, are being siphoned to Pepsi and Coke.   I fully support the agitation.  However, the skeptic in me believes that nothing will come of it, and being a social media soldier is the most useless thing to do.

The week had better improve from hereon.

PS:  The scroll lock got released by itself !  Mental.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Rant fest

  1. Carol

    “being a social media soldier is the most useless thing to do.” yet what else can e do? Governments seem to be blind to reality. Mac vs Windows. Bite the big bullet, get a Mac. Who needs to eat anyway?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Gobblefunkist Post author

      Yeah, food is overrated 🙂
      The problem is not just the money. My work necessarily involves using MS Word, and the compatibility of Word and Mac is poor. In fact, I suspect (although I don’t want to admit it) that this incompatibility fried my MAC’s logic board !

      Like

      Reply
      1. Gobblefunkist Post author

        Yes, I had it. It worked fine. But it would always heat up the system…have you heard of MAC getting heated? Word did it. The day before the mac crashed, I was working on a large document with lots of figures and tables and in an hour, the laptop got too hot to even hold. I am still not sure it was the word that caused it, I can’t think of what else might have.

        Like

  2. Maha

    I am glad I read this thread because I have always wanted a MAC but have been reluctant because of the compatibility issues. Plus the inertia to get used to MAC. I badly need a personal laptop, may be windows is the way to go because I would rather have one that gets the work done than worry about compatibility issues.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Laksh

    Another Mac fan here but a happy camper as I have learned to use pages and it works for me. Totally hear you on the ranting. Am in the same kind of mood. See my post. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Gobblefunkist Post author

      I love pages too. But my clients don’t 🙂
      Actually my unhappiness is because I got used to mac and it is so hard to come back to Windows. And the fact that no matter how hard I work, I will never get to a point where I can “afford” a MAC. Kind of humbling. But that’s ok, right?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Laksh

        I understand. I treated myself to a Mac for my 40th bday knowing it would be a one time thing. I hope you find a fabulous deal that will make one possible for you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

