Sharing my world

Thank you, Cee.

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot?

I love to walk barefoot. Especially in summer, when the coolness of the cement floor (we have red oxide cement floor in our house) is bliss. I love the contact between my body and the earth.  Unfortunately, I have very rough and dry feet, which, perhaps due to static, have fatal attraction to micrometric particulates.  In effect, my feet are natural dust mops, so letting me walk for ten minutes on any apparently clean surface will show you that  “apparent” cleanliness is filthy ! But I can live with dirty feet (no, I can’t, but let’s say I can), what is more painful is that the dust collects on the microscopic prints on my feet for eternity, and it takes nuclear grade pedicure to clean them.  So, I wear flip flops at home.   But sometimes, when no one is watching, and I feel a hot flash coming on, I stealthly place my feet on the ground and feel the ecstacy.

What was your favorite food when you were a child?

Don’t judge me.  Rice.  I have always loved rice.  Not mixed rice, not fried rice, not lemon rice, not tamarind rice, but white rice.  Preverably with a dollop of ghee (clarified butter).  And with salted and asafoetida’ed lentils (“paruppu sadam”).  Or runny rasam rice.  Or curd rice.  My staff of life is rice.  I have reduced the quantity of rice I eat now, but I need rice.  In my childhood, in my adulthood, probably in my senility as well.

Are you a listener or talker?

Obvious .  Listener.  I think there are far too many talkers in this world, so I am content to be a listener. Besides, I am a terrible conversationist.

Favorite thing to (pick one):  Photograph?  Write? Or Cook?

In order of my favourite activity:  Write, write and write.  Photograph may come somewhere along the bottom of a long list made largely of “write”.  But cooking – ha !  The only reasons Cee asked this question could be that it was not aimed for me, she doesn’t know me, and she is too far away for me to bonk her on her noggin.

Grateful for:  A relatively peaceful week.

Looking forward to: Getting a lot of work done this week.

3 thoughts on “Sharing my world

Leave a Reply

