Sharing my world

Through Cee’s questions.

How many languages do you speak?

English and Tamil fluently.

I love to speak in Hindi, although I am not very good at it, my main problem is knowing the gender of nouns – nouns in both English and Tamil are not associated with gender, so, using gender address for inanimate nouns is an alien concept to me. I have the same problem with German as well. There is largely no logic to the assignment of gender to nouns as well.

I have a serious problem with people mocking those who speak an alien language with mistakes. When I was in grad school, there was a Tamilian girl, who would make it a point to speak in Hindi with the North Indian friends. There was a Bengali girl who was pretty snarky about G’s Hindi, and I thought it that was unfair. I once told her that G is making an attempt to learn and practice a language alien to her. Has she (M) even bothered to speak in anything but Hindi? Needless to add, M stopped talking to me.

Back in grad school, a friend tried to teach me Telugu, I learnt it enough to understand when someone talks, but I can’t talk. It is my dream to be able to talk in German some day.

I love languages. All of them. Even the click languages. Especially the click languages.

What are you reading, watching, listening to, eating?

Reading: Eggs, beans and Crumpets (PGW), for the umpteenth time.

Last night we watched the movie, Vertical Limit during family time. On a regular basis, I follow “The Big Bang Theory” although it has lost all its juice.

Listening to Silence.

Eating: I had sathu maa kanji (a protein gruel thing) for breakfast this morning.

What was the last photo you took with your phone?

This was taken in the beach last weekend.
IMG_20170506_184828

What is your favorite time of day?
Any time I am working – on my job, on the blog, on the yard, in the gym.
Least favourite time: Any time in the kitchen.

Grateful for: A peaceful week.

Looking forward to: Getting a lot of work done.

7 thoughts on “Sharing my world

  1. puppy1952

    Wow I really admire you for learning so many languages and for writing your blog in English. I love reading your blog. I agree with you re being unkind about how people speak a 2nd language. We have 11 Official languages in South Africa 7 of which are click.

    Like

    Reply
      1. Gobblefunkist Post author

        That is so cool. If ever I visit South Africa, I will take a lesson on click languages.
        Languages are so cool. They bring us together as human species, in all their diversity.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The V Pub

    Sigh. One (of many) failing in life is to not learn another language. To make matters worse, my parents were born in Italy, and that did not inspire me to learn. 😦

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

