Sharing my world

Cee’s Share Your World 3 July 2017

For your main meal do you prefer sweet and sour, hot and spicy, spicy and sweet, bitter, salty, bland or other?

A little of this, a smidgeon of that and a dash of the other.   I like my meals to have all six flavors. Traditionally, a full Indian meal is supposed to have all six – sweet, sour, hot, bitter, salt and thuvarpu (which has no equivalent in English – the taste of olive comes under this, for reference). I try that our daily home lunch has all six every day. I don’t always have bitter, but today I did – bitter guard in pepper kuzambu.  Today’s was:  Banana with sugar (for sweet), bitter guard pepper kuzambu for both spicy and bitter, lemon rasam for sour, gooseberry pachadi for thuvarpu and of course, salt in everything.

Where do you hide junk when people come over?

If I sound holier-than-thou in my answer, banish the thought. I am the messiest, clumsiest, untidiest, most disorganized person you could know.  But, when I know I am having people over, I do some heavy duty cleaning of the house, so people don’t see junk.  However, to my credit, I don’t possess junk.  I am an obsessive thrower-away of anything not nailed to the floor – I recently got rid of my couches because well, they were “stuff”. My untidiness is in the mess that surrounds our essential elements.

If the visitors are unexpected, I restrict them to the living room, which is the husband’s domain.  The husband is the cleanest, tidiest, perfectionist person you could know. And yes, how he puts up with me is beyond my imagination.

What daily habit would you like to introduce to your life?

Mindfulness.  Meditation.  Former, I am making some progress. Latter could be better.

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?

Probably throw up. My motion sickness is legendary.

Grateful for/looking forward to:

Grateful for the end of my horrible UTI without antibiotics.

Looking forward to some alone time this weekend.

 

3 thoughts on “Sharing my world

  1. Carol

    If you have no couches, where do you sit? Not that I sit on my couch, but I have big recliners, one of which is mine, one of which is for Shasta until my kids come home to visit. You can see I have priorities – once of which is comfy seating.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

