Sharing my world

Answering Cee and perhaps a bit more.  The end of this post will tell.

How do you like to spend a rainy day?

I claim that I love to dance in the rain.  I have danced in the rain in the recent past and embarrassed my kid.  In the not-so-recent past, I have danced in the rain WITH the kid – this was before the devil called teenage came to possess her.  I am known to take long walks in the peak of cyclonic storms that have eluded our city for two years now.  But my husband recently observed something about me when we were on our daily walk and were caught unawares in a downpour.  We were soaking within minutes, and while I claimed I was enjoying it, I was actually shivering and shaking and he said “you want to enjoy the rain, but your body does not let you”.  I hate to admit it, but he is right.  I get the chills when I am wet.  Even in peak summer, when I take a cold shower, my teeth chatter within minutes.

I used to think that I love sitting in the verandah, sipping a cup of hot chai and enjoying the pitter patter out there, but I have come to realise that such is a romantic fantasy and my inherent restlessness would not let me do it.

So what would I like to do when it rains?  I am not sure.

List at least five favorite treats. (They do not have to be sugary).

Varies.  As I type this out, I am craving for cake.  I haven’t had a cake in a year.   I almost bought myself a cake today, but the memory of last week’s GI and associated hospital experience was too fresh in my mind to indulge.

Peanuts.  In all forms, salted, caramel coated, plain, roasted, raw, boiled, in balls, in snickers, as butter…..all forms.

Bananas.  All varieties – malai, rasthali, elakki, nethram, sevvazai….even Mowries, although Mowries, I hear are bad for health.  So, I avoid them.

Sugar candy  or diamond kalkandu as it is called hereabouts.  I love the feel of the bite, the crunch and the sweetness that fills my being.  And they look like little diamonds.  I eat diamonds, I am rich !  And juvenile.

Milk:  If only my lactose intolerance would disappear – I would probably swim in a vat of the blessed stuff.  Perhaps add a few strands of saffron to it, while at it, and dump some sugar candy into it.  Oh man.

I am a foodie.  Or at least used to be until middle age took over.  Food is treat to me.

Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests?

Back to the airport.  Kidding (or am I?).  I am not a great hostess.  Added to which, I don’t like to go anywhere much.  I would love to book an Uber for the guests and send them sightseeing wherever they want.  I will even foot the bill for them.

But, there is one exception.  The beach.  I will go to the beach with anyone, guest or not.  All a stranger has to do is tell me “Gobblefunkist, will you take me to the beach”, and they’ve had me at “beach”.

You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with?

Fat chance I would set foot in one.  Elevator rides make me nauseated (as do car rides, airplane travel, bus rides, swings, see saws, watching roller coasters, thinking of roller coasters, and living).   I have climbed fourteen floors in the past to reach my destination.  I’d rather have a cardiac arrest than nausea.

What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that we live in an era and place where the toilet is clean and has running water. Nothing like a gastrointestinal infection to make you appreciate the important things in life.

Here comes my “woo hoo” bit.  I completed ALL my work assignments today.  Even sent out the bills to all my clients.  I still have a small job to do for my husband , but that does not count as “work”, mainly because I won’t get “paid” !  But other than that, I have a clean slate.  But the most important thing is that I have nothing to do on the work front for the first time in more than a year.  I know I will start getting stuff to do soon enough, but this is a much needed rest.  I was beginning to break under the strain of constant work.

The icing is that I am alone this week at home – the better half is away at his childhood home, and the kid is off at school all day, which leaves me home alone.  I love the family to bits and all, but this is the first time in more than a year that I have had time to myself. Today, I got myself a much needed pedicure – the nail on my middle toe was disgusted enough at the aridness of its neighbourhood that it fell off its bed in its entirety last night.  And I actually had time to sit and not think about anything. Yay.

Yes, I know I am evil.  But a break is a good thing now and then, take it from me.

14 thoughts on “Sharing my world

  1. SS

    I cracked up at your response to the elevator question 🙂 But sorry about your motion sickness. I don’t like to go on roller coasters either, but if an elevator or a car ride is like a roller coaster it is not fun.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hangaku Gozen

    Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests?

    Back to the airport.

    Ka-ching! There ought to be a prize given for snarkiest wisecrack of the day. You’d win it, hands down.

    Seriously, I don’t mind being a hostess, but it has to be on my terms. If a guest wants to visit a place two hours away by car and I don’t feel like driving, I tell them they can drive themselves. My parents would roll in their graves hearing me say that, but I used to watch them turn themselves inside out trying to please a guest, only to complain bitterly after the person left. I swore I wouldn’t be victimized by a blind need to be the perfect hostess. In fact, you’re more likely to stay on friendly terms with the guests if you’re forthright about saying what you won’t do for them. My mother had a falling out with her best friend from high school because she couldn’t bring herself to say ‘no’ when the friend invited another couple of friends (strangers to my mother) to dinner at our house. The friend wasn’t rude per se, just naive and unused to American notions of privacy and boundaries. But Mom exploded after dinner when the guests all left and swore she would never speak to that friend again. Not surprisingly, she was terribly lonely in the later years of her life. 😦

    Like

    Reply
    1. Gobblefunkist Post author

      That was the Asian streak in your mom I suppose. In India, we actually have a proverb “guests are god”, which we take too seriously. I am a very bad hostess, I am a bad cook, I can’t travel by cabs without throwing up, and I get worked up about having a clean house when guests visit. So having guests is stressful to me, unless they are people I am very comfortable with….like my cousins wife who visited me recently…it was fun with her because I could be myself with her. Otherwise I am on thorns till they leave.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Brian Lageose

    Well, the person commenting just before me snatched up my initial response, wherein I was going to bestow a glittering literary prize upon you for “Back to the airport.” So now I have to wing it, and… um… yeah, drawing a blank. Dang… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

