Monday medley

..and no “work” work still.  I know this is the lull before the storm, and I am milking every moment of it dry (crappy mixed metaphors).

**

My meager excuse-of-a-garden is perking up a tad bit, despite the serious lack of green thumbs.  The moon flower vine has let out buds, as have the Dahlias.  The Rangoon Creeper continues to grow beautifully, but no semblance of flower yet.  Does anyone have any tricks up their sleeve to get it to bloom?  Don’t ask me to do risky stuff, like sing to it, or do a tribal bloom dance around it naked – I want it to bloom not die of shock.

The first crop of mint is ready to be harvested for Biryani tomorrow.  The curry leaf plant has become a tree.  I am tempted to plant more – plants, not curry leaf trees.  Despite the serious lack of green thumb.

Butterfly season is in full swing in our neighbourhood.  Between 11 AM and 12 PM, walking on the road is like being inside a snow globe, except that the snow flakes are actually butterflies.  The beauty is unbelievable.

Will it rain? Won’t it rain?  It had better.  The city is reeling under intense water shortage.

***

A listless websearch for “healthy tea time snacks” throws out the likes of muffins.  In which world is a concoction of white flour, sugar and butter “healthy”, may I ask?  Closer home, it is “samosa fried in olive oil”.  Right. Olive oil makes everything healthy, even if you are deep-frying white flour coated stuff in it.  Sheesh people.

And on the other extreme is “fruits”.  I will have fruits with my tea when I relocate to Mars.

I am still searching.  And going crazy.  I have somewhat optimized the other meals, but tea time continues to frustrate me.  Yes, I have been in charge of the familial nourishment for 15 years now, and I am still optimizing meals.  What’s your point, huh?

**

The kid said something extremely funny yesterday and I wanted to record it here. I forgot what it was. Dang.

**

Does the male gender have poorer self-preservation skills than the female?  A few happenings of hear-say make me believe that men lack the basic instinct for safety – and I don’t mean physical safety alone.  Perhaps I am being sexist.

**

I will probably share my world later today, once Cee publishes her questions.

23 thoughts on “Monday medley

  1. shail

    Butterflies! I am seeing more of them these days. Of course I have their favorite plant, lantana, planted especially for them. I also find the maximum of them out between 11 a.m. and 12, but people tell me I should be out early for butterflies. I have too, but found none of them are early risers.
    When you find that teatime snack, give a holler. I’d like to know too. 😀 I wish I lived nearer to you. I’d have invited myself over for the Biriyani 😉 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laksh

    For snacks with tea, have you tried makana (lotus seeds) roasted in a pan with a smidge of ghee, manjal, salt and black pepper? Its crisp and light and presumably healthy.

    Like

    Reply
  3. SS

    Maybe dhokla with the accompaniments as it is steamed. I love sundals and sometimes make a bhel puri kind of thing with varutha pori. A couple of spoons of mixture, a few pieces of diced onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, mangoes, coriander leaves, a few drops of any pickle oil. a little ketcup etc., will give the extra punch – if you don’t want to make the chutneys.

    A few vadais or bajji’s are okay too. If fried in a good oil, in the right temperature and then draining well and eating it on the weekends should not be that bad right! At least that is what I tell myself 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. chronicworrier

    Pori- treated the same way as Laksh mentioned for makhana. (I eat it by the fistfuls. Literally stuff my face.) Or, add chopped onion/tomato/kothamalli to it, also tasty but not very conducive to hand grabbing. I tried this once and loved it- I made a dip with hung curd to which I randomly added some garlic, pepper, salt and curry powder (yes, that generic “Madras curry powder” concoction) which went great with crispy toasted whole grain bread slices. Bread dipped in a mixture of kadalai maavu+curd+whatever spices you fancy, then toasted also makes a good snack.

    I’m going to watch this space for more tea-time inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

