Sharing my world

Lots of thoughts in my head that need out.  But chances are that by the time I am finished with Cee’s questions, they would have dissipated.  Or not.

What is your favorite cheese?

The first time I tasted cheese was in the US, when I was 22, on a pizza.  I almost threw up.  Then the transformation happened and I could not have enough of it.  I had cheese sandwiches, extra cheese pizza, cheese omelettes, cheese slices, shredded cheese placed in a dispenser on Italian restaurant tables, and everything else cheese for all meals, for the next fifteen years of my life.

Somewhere along the way, the forties struck and the body would not tolerate cheese (Western cheese, that is) anymore.  Any ingested cheese settled in cellulitic bumps and not-so-cellulitic tyres on the surface and padding on the entrails.  After dissolving some of the tyres and bumps in the gym, I am a lot more careful about the kind of cheese that goes in.

Now, I am fine with panneer (Indian cottage cheese, sorta like tofu), but with the others, I go easy.  If we order pizza, I have one slice and if I am still hungry, I remove the cheese from the whole wheat crust.  Yes, pathetic I know, but I have one body and I would rather that the soul stays with it happily for a few more decades than get volleyed by the lipid buildup.

Are you left or right handed?

Right.  But when it comes to writing, it makes no difference.  I sometimes lie to people that I tried writing with my left hand to exercise my brain, to explain the monstrosity on paper.

Do you prefer exercising your mind or your body? How frequently do you do either?

I used to love exercising my mind, and treated my body with the gentleness of a bomb ready to explode, until a few years ago.  Of course, I have always loved walking, but not as an exercise, but as an activity.  Now I love both and consciously exercise both of them every day. Part of the change is because of the awareness that my blood-family is riddled with all kinds of diseases of the flesh and brain that unless I am proactive in keeping both in good shape, my sunset years would be a long horrible nightmare.

Complete this sentence: Hot days are …

essential.  In our part of the world, hot days mean good rainfall in the near future.  We have not had hot days in the past fortnight, which bodes badly for a city that is already reeling under water scarcity.  I want a couple of hot days if only to bring in the rains.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that I got a few days rest from work.  I now have work trickling in again, but I got the much needed break, and I am ready to start from tomorrow. Why tomorrow?  Because.

Looking forward?  Not really.  My hormonal see-saw seemed to be under some sort of check for the past two cycles, but today I cried at the sight of a baby monkey jumping around my yard this morning, which means that the following week is going to be rocky. I hope I can practice mindfulness when the tempest blows, and not let the stories in the head take over my sanity.  Wish me luck.

So, what is your week like?

4 thoughts on “Sharing my world

Leave a Reply

